Title: HE BELONGS WITH ME

Author: Sarah Darlington
Genre: New Adult Contemporary Romance
He Belongs With Me
Synopsis: 
Identical twins, Maggie and Clara Ryder, both grew up with Leo Maddox, billionaire playboy, apparent alcoholic, and heir to his grandfather’s world-famous Maddox hotel empire. Their roles were cemented long ago: Maggie, as his best friend and Clara as his childhood nemesis.

But when a simple twist of fate changes everything and both girls start to fall for the lean, mean, ridiculously sexy and seemingly spoiled Leo… which girl will win his heart?

Throw in a little mischief, drama, and one smoking-hot bartender and lines are sure to blur. But one thing’s for certain, neither good-girl Maggie nor rebellious Clara will be satisfied until they each figure out where they belong. 

20140127-225638.jpg

A wild ride on a roller coaster is less exciting than this book. I was an emotional wreck by the time I got done with this book. It had me up and down with the wild antics of one sister and the confused mind of another.

I could not choose if I liked this book or wanted to just worked through it. I know that sentence sounds like I hated this book, but it is just the opposite. This book took a grip in me and would not let go. I was laughing in one minute and then wondering what happened in the next. One sister was running away and the other was running towards another guy. Wow!

*Complimentary copy provided by author/publisher for a real honest review.*

image

About the Author:
Sarah Darlington lives in the DC metro area, is married to her high school sweetheart, and currently spends her time chasing around a very active toddler. As a former flight attendant, she misses the days of pantyhose, galley gossip with good friends, and traveling to new places. In the future she’d like to return to that career, but, just as flying gets into your bones, so does writing. Whenever she gets a free moment these days, she writes.
Connect with Sarah:   Blog I Facebook Goodreads Twitter

20131215-100533.jpg

Author questions:

1. What’s your favorite organizational tool or item to help you keep your stories in chronological order? Do you prefer to write series or Stand alones?

I don’t really have a tool to keep my stories in order. But I never write ahead when writing. Skipping ahead never works for me because I don’t really know what direction a story will lead until I get there. So I force myself to write chronologically and never skip.

Standalones. For now, at least.

2. Do you play the What if game with a basic idea? Do you come up with your story idea first or do you come up with characters/who the main ones are before you can come up with the plot?

I’ve never tried the ‘what if’ game. Maybe I will on my next novel.

Usually the characters pop into my head first along with a very basic idea. Then when I’m laying down, going to sleep at night, I run through scenarios. (So maybe I am playing the ‘what if’ game.) That form of daydreaming is how I plot out my novels. But I never know the details until the words flow through my fingers while typing.

3. How do you decide on locations for each story and when you pick a place you’ve never been for the story how do you research the place?

Location/setting is very important to me. It has to fit with the story and the story has to fit with it. For the purposes of my novel, I had to make up a fictional town. I’m from Virginia and Virginia is what I know, so even if Blue Creek, Virginia–the fictional town in HE BELONGS WITH ME–is make-believe, it is still based heavily on reality.

I guess I try to pick places based on what I know. If I have to make them up, I make them very similar to something I already know. That’s just what’s easier for me.

4. How do you pick out names that you feel fit your characters?

Instinct, I guess. Whatever feels right. I choose my character names before I ever started writing and very quickly a simple name becomes something more. Take Leo Maddox for example. About halfway through writing my novel, I read the novel Beautiful Disaster. It’s such a huge book in the NA world and after reading it I considering changing Leo’s last name. In a way, I felt Maddox was already taken by Travis. But I’d grown so attached to Leo and the name Maddox, that I couldn’t bring myself to do it.

5. What’s your best advice to new writers on building a new “story” world and how to keep track of it all?

Live in your story. Writing a full length novel means you have TONS to keep track of and it can be overwhelming. Write a little bit each day–or at least reread a little of your novel each day–so that you don’t leave that world you are living in. It took me one whole year to write HE BELONGS WITH ME. I’m the slowest writer ever! I spent about 2 hours per day living in that world. By the end, I knew it like the back of my hand.

6. Do you use any special programs to write or just word? (examples like Writeway, yWriter, Scrievner etc). do you do all of your writing by the computer or are you crazy like me and you write it in a notebook you can drag around and then add it to the computer later?

I use two things– word and the notes section of my phone (which I guess is like carrying around a notebook). I’ve never tried any of those other programs before.

7. Are you a plotter or panster? Do you need complete silence while working or do you like listening to music?

I try to plot, I really do. But I always end up nowhere near where I originally intended. And complete silence.

8. How many words do you write a day and is there a time that you’ve found is your “best” writing time? If so, is that morning or night?!

I’m such a slow writer. On average, probably only 100-200 words per day. It varies in spurts though. I don’t really have a best time. I have a two year old, so whenever he is sleeping is best.

9. Have you ever felt like giving up on writing or stopped to question yourself of why your are writing?

Yes, all the time. It’s kind of end my blood though. So even when I’ve tried to give up in the past, I can’t. It’s something I love even when I hate it.

10. What will you be writing next?

I kind of have two different ideas fighting for attention right now. 1. A novel from Steph’s POV, the best friend to Clara in HE BELONGS WITH ME. 2. Or a totally new idea. Another thing I struggle with is getting a story going. Once I’m about 5 chapters in, and fully committed, it becomes easier to ‘live in that world’. Until then, I constantly struggle with ‘is this the story I should be devoting all these hours to?’

11. Not counting any of your own characters, who is your favorite book boyfriend?

Adrian from Richelle Meads’ Vampire Academy and Bloodlines series. I’m a huge YA fan even though I write NA.

12. Who is your go to author when you are looking for something to read?

Abbi Glines.

13. What got you into writing and what made you write this book?

Twilight got me into writing. It got me into reading again, actually. And in 2013 I decided, ‘this is the year I will finish one of my stories’!

14. Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Hmmm? Maybe that sometimes there is already a lot more love in your life than you realize.

Extra:

I hope all that was helpful for writers. For any writer, my best advice is to just keep writing. Force yourself everyday and always be trying to improve. If you read the stuff I wrote when I first started–about 6 years ago–you would laugh. But slowly, with practice, writing is something you can teach yourself.

{^^}{^^}{^^}{^^}{^^}{^^}{^^}{^^}{^^}{^^}{^^}{^^}{^^}{^^}{^^}

